Little Pouches

I have been busily sewing in November. Just because I haven’t posted doesn’t mean I haven’t been sewing. Almost every day. Here are my projects…

Made Laura 2 more skirts. One already has a hole in it, discovered this morning. Looks like a couple of sharp fingernails went through when wrestling her into it. I am contemplating some applique ideas to cover it up.

I finished a big bunch of Fat Bottom Bags for an order from one of L’s nurses. Made all from Christmas fabrics. She’s putting a couple of things in them and giving them as gifts. Soooo glad I bought those fat quarters and half yards at Keepsake’s sale a couple of years ago.

I finished the top for that curvy quilt. It is Kathy Alyce’s from her book, Flip Flop Quilts. And its all in modern fabrics, coral, pink, and navy. The curves were a good challenge but not too hard. A departure from my comfort zone. This is half the quilt folded over the quilting frame. Not quilted yet. No surprise there. I’m thinking about what the back will be. I have lots of scraps.

And I’ve also had some fun with making some small zippered pouches. I took out my Christmas fabric scraps. And I mean scraps! Small pieces that I saved, now I know why. I did a sew and flip, quilt as you go, on scrap batting. Lots of fun! They are intended as gifts. Try it some time! I put in the zippers and finished the bags just like in my Fat Bottom instructions. Only one of them has a fat bottom, the rest are flat bottoms.

So pretty. This one might be for me!

4 thoughts on “Little Pouches

  1. I love your curvy block quilt! I have pieced curves before but chickened out and did it by hand. Doing it by machine should be one of my 2013 goals. Your top looks fabulous in Outfoxed.

  2. Naturally, every single creation is gorgeous! I’m passing your blog link on to a quilter John just met at NECCO. She’s new to the area and I know will be excited to connect with other artists like you 🙂 Love to Laura…

Leave a Reply

